Travel Advice

EasyJet Flight Review – Travel Day To Nice, France

We decided to escape the snow and wind of the UK in March and head to the springtime sun and glamour of Nice on the Côte d’Azur. However, in order to get there, we have it partake in the distinctly unglamorous necessity of 21st-century air travel.

We chose to fly with the budget airline Easyjet for a couple of reasons, the price and it is the only airline which flies to Nice, France from our nearest airport

Firstly, let us admit it, we don’t fly light, even for 4 days. The idea of travelling with hand luggage only is a concept which terrifies us, so we did add one case with a decent weight allowance of 23kg.

Check-In Bristol Airport

Self Service Check In

No queues at the EasyJet self service check-in

Bristol is one of EasyJet’s hub airports so there is a relatively big check-in area and plenty of automated bag drop machines. You simply scan your boarding card and a luggage tag is printed. You attach it to the case yourself and then put your bag on the luggage belt, if done correctly and within weight, off it goes (fingers crossed)!

The process did seem quicker than the old queuing method. We always seem to get stuck behind an extended family of 10 who have packed two shotguns and nearly everything on the restricted list.

Bristol Duty Free

Exit through the duty-free at Bristol Airport

Security was quick and quite well managed with plenty of lanes open and we were soon running the gauntlet of the duty-free exit route into the departure lounge. Like snipers, the sales assistants are in position, waiting to pounce and spray you with something flowery.

The Outdoor Terrace, Bristol Airport

The outdoor terrace at Bristol Airport

For a smaller airport, the facilities at Bristol Airport are quite good. The long stay car park is within walking distance of the terminal and not that expensive when compared to other airports. The food offerings are OK with a number to choose from, there is also a little outside terrace to get some fresh air and as it is no-smoking, it isn’t overrun with the smokers and a mound of cigarette butts.

There is now an on-site hotel, a Hampton Inn which is reasonably priced if you want to stay the night before.

Bus transfer.

Oh No! It’s the dreaded bus transfer

Departure time – the flight was on time but the procedure is still uncomfortable. As the turn around time for the budget airlines is so short the gate is called when the plane isn’t ready and everyone is forced to wait in a small uncomfortable area. Also, as the plane was parked away from the terminal, we had to endure the dreaded bus transfer. If you had priority boarding you get the privilege of waiting on the bus even longer.

Boarding the plane did take quite a long time and was uncomfortable. It is a bit annoying as this process is repeated by the staff day in, day out but it always feels like it’s the first time they’ve ever done it.

On Board The EasyJet Airbus A319

inside the EasyJet cabin

Onboard the full EasyJet A319 flight

The standard seats on the Easyjet Airbus A319 aren’t the biggest, your knees will probably be touching the seat in front of you and this will feel worse if you’re made to put a bag under the seat. Luckily, the flight time was under 2 hours so it wasn’t too uncomfortable.

The staff onboard were quite helpful and friendly and the in-flight service was quick, wherever you were sitting (something BA could learn from).

Although we do sound critical of the flight, after all, EasyJet is a budget airline and do offer some really cheap deals. We feel that just a couple of minor changes involving boarding could make the experience much better and less stressful. Also, compared to the falling standards of British Airways short haul, the EasyJet service is now as good as, if not better.

Arrival In Nice, France

Landing at Nice EasyJet

The clouds have cleared as we come into land in Nice

The flight arrived on time and we were greeted to a sunny French Riviera afternoon. The plane was also parked at the terminal so no dreaded bus transfer to disembark.

The Promenade in Nice France.

The blue sea and tree lined promenade of Nice on the French Riviera, the perfect reason to travel.

What are your experiences of EasyJet or what other budget airlines would you recommend?
We will be travelling across North America shortly so any information about US-based airlines would be appreciated.

Easyjet flight review from Bristol airport to Nice on the French Riviera

EasyJet Flight Review, Travel Day To Nice, France – Pin For Later

You Might Also Like

  • tom
    March 17, 2018 at 8:32 am

    Easyjet gets a hard knock, but as soon as you go on Ryanair you realise how good you had it. As you say though, your knees will always be bumping the seat in front of you. I’m not a giant but I still feel like a prune in those planes.

    • Mr and Mrs W
      March 17, 2018 at 8:37 am

      Also as mentioned, we have found the EasyJet service to be better than British Airways short haul. Luckily, we don’t really use Ryanair.

  • Danila Caputo
    March 17, 2018 at 9:51 am

    We have a lot of Easyjet flights from our local airport and then while the prices are good, we still feel uneasy about traveling only with the hand luggage. With the new policies if you don’t get early at your gate you risk they take away also the hand luggage if you aren’t in the first… I think 90 people. They also don’t take responsibility in case your camera equipment is stolen/breaks. If I put it in my hand luggage there’s a reason, right? And yet if you want it up with you, you need to pay extra or be one of the lucky 90s. You have to pay extra to be able to bring your hand luggage with you, extra to be able to take your flight next to your husband, maybe add some insurance as well… and as you mentioned, the seats are tight so if you are tall, you will definitely be uncomfortable. At this point we’re gladly spending a bit more right from the start, saving ourselves the hassle!

    • Mr and Mrs W
      March 17, 2018 at 11:58 am

      Luckily, we didn’t have our hand luggage removed. Mine is full of camera stuff too and their batteries which are not allowed in the hold due to the fire risk, so don’t know what they could do. Maybe, they would make you take the batteries out?

  • Anu
    March 17, 2018 at 12:40 pm

    I have only flown Air Arabia as the low cost international airline. Yes, they come with lot of constraints but then you are not paying for any fringes. My only constraint is that they make you pay for every kilogram you carry with you. Sometimes it is cheaper to buy new clothes at the destination than to port the old ones. Two hours is not too bad for a budget airline whereas you say – seats are not the widest.

    • Mr and Mrs W
      March 18, 2018 at 9:02 pm

      Luckily, most low-cost flights from the UK are under 2 hours. What is annoying is the procedure at the airport, low -cost and premium. In 2018 there still seem to be a lot of waiting around and unnecessary queuing.

  • Tara
    March 17, 2018 at 6:33 pm

    I’m definitely considering booking flights from Bristol, this summer. I haven’t really considered a trip before but your Nice photo is beautiful and sometimes you just need a weekend in the sunshine!

    • Mr and Mrs W
      March 18, 2018 at 9:04 pm

      We loved Nice (was very reasonable off-season). The actual flight time was 1 hour 40 mins. They always build in a delay time.

  • Linda
    March 18, 2018 at 7:34 am

    Ha, ha… I can’t help imagining the “extended family of 10 who has packed two shotguns and nearly everything on the restricted list”! Glad you got to avoid that due to the efficient system at Bristol Airport. I guess arriving in sunny Nice makes up for spending 2 hours on an uncomfortable EasyJet seat. As you say, it is a budget airline after all.

    • Mr and Mrs W
      March 18, 2018 at 9:06 pm

      Yes, the destination more than made up for the inconvenience of the travel. Luckily no shotguns on our return flight only skiing equipment.

  • Medha Verma
    March 18, 2018 at 8:08 am

    I was just going to say that EasyJet is a budget airline and you cannot really expect a lot, when I read about your leg space issue. Then I saw that you mentioned it yourself, that when you pay the amount of money that you do for a flight, you need to keep your expectations low as well. Having said that, it seems they have good service which kind of makes up for the lack of certain facilities, doesn’t it?

    • Mr and Mrs W
      March 18, 2018 at 9:07 pm

      Yes, although it is a budget airline the staff were very friendly and helpful which does help.

  • Meg Jerrard
    March 18, 2018 at 11:55 am

    Yes, I’ve found Easyjet to be a good budget airline, though you do get what you pay for. It was with Easyjet that I unpacked 5 kilos worth of clothes from my bag and wore them onto the plane because they were going to charge me some ridiculous amount of money in extra baggage, so something to keep in mind not to go over your limits. But I’m sure the French Riviera, was a welcome retreat!!

    • Mr and Mrs W
      March 18, 2018 at 9:10 pm

      You should buy yourself one of those coats which have hundreds of pockets to avoid any excess luggage charges. When will they start weighing you as a person? I bet Ryanair have a trial already!

  • Carol Colborn
    March 19, 2018 at 7:45 am

    We have a pretty good experience with EasyJet. We will always favor budget fares and make do with those little inconveniences.

    • Mr and Mrs W
      March 24, 2018 at 8:19 am

      They are cheap but so many of the inconveniences can be sorted out quite easily, a lot depends on the staff on duty at the gate.

  • Catherine
    March 19, 2018 at 7:50 am

    Haven’t tired EasyJet in my flights but could be nice since they offer a good deal in around Europe. When it comes to traveling on a budget, I choose Air Asia, just like EasyJet, they have a small leg space tho no problem for me because I’m small! but I could tell from other passengers that they seem uncomfortable. If it’s a 1-2 hour flight I could handle! The blue waters in Nice France is calling!

    • Mr and Mrs W
      March 24, 2018 at 8:20 am

      I think I would struggle with the lack of space when the flight is over 2 hours, especially if the plane is too warm.

  • Indrani
    March 19, 2018 at 11:03 am

    Easyjet seems to be a good budget airline. But I guess the hardships faced is a part of the cheap deal.
    I wouldn’t mind it if they are punctual.

    • Mr and Mrs W
      March 24, 2018 at 8:21 am

      They are not too bad with the timekeeping. Like lots of airlines, they seem to build delays into their schedule.

  • Mansoureh
    March 21, 2018 at 4:36 pm

    we are kinda opposite of you. we travel very light. we usually fly with Rayan Air. To be honest I prefer Easy Jet. The budget airlines work for us when we travel for a weekend gateway.

    • Mr and Mrs W
      March 24, 2018 at 8:23 am

      Lot’s of people say they are much better than Ryanair, at least they don’t openly show contempt to their customers like Ryanair seem to do.

  • Sophia Grace
    March 29, 2018 at 6:31 am

    Hi Admin,

    This Travel Day post is really nice that you shared your experience with Easyjet Flight. I wasn’t try Easyjet flight but your experience looks really good & now I will surely do go with Easyjet flight.